Quiche — Jinxy’s Version

IMG_1876Quiche you wonder? Yes, quiche because I have an abundance of fresh eggs coming in at the tune of a dozen a day while we are caring for Uncle Bully’s flock. That and since spring is springing up here in Central Florida, I am always looking for something that isn’t going to be in the oven for hours. With a thirty minute bake time, quiche is wonderful.

So, since I have never made a quiche, I went in search of a great recipe and let me tell you, there are a lot of them out there. Most all call for heavy cream and others get poor ratings for tasting ‘too eggy’. Really? Too eggy? Isn’t supposed to be eggy? So I read countless recipes and then opted to just make my own taking the main elements from all those I read and tweaking them more to my tastes (and what the man likes) to come up with what I served up for supper.

For the crust, I used this recipe, thanks to my niece for sharing it with me it’s my go to for pie crust.    Of course, you can use any store bought pre-made crust as well and have great results as well.

Ingredients: 

1/2 C     Light Condensed Milk at room temperature
1/2 C     Non-fat Milk at room temperature
8 oz.     Ham steak, diced
8 0z.    Shredded Swiss Cheese
1 C        Raw spinach, chopped
5 lg.     Eggs at room temperature
1 tbsp.    Melted butter
Salt, Pepper, Cayenne Pepper to taste

Place diced ham in the pie crust shell. Whisk together condensed milk, non-fat milk and eggs until well blended. Stir in melted butter and seasonings. Fold in shredded cheese and spinach and pour over ham in pie crust shell.  Bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes before slicing and serving.  Serves 8.

Nutrition Facts
Servings 8.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 318
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 22 g 34 %
Saturated Fat 8 g 40 %
Monounsaturated Fat 3 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 170 mg 57 %
Sodium 635 mg 26 %
Potassium 102 mg 3 %
Total Carbohydrate 25 g 8 %
Dietary Fiber 0 g 0 %
Sugars 11 g
Protein 18 g 37 %
Vitamin A 13 %
Vitamin C 3 %
Calcium 20 %
Iron 10 %

 

Leave a comment